PDA

View Full Version : Help.. I'm a newbie

WallerMan
June 19th, 2002, 09:54 AM
Hi,
I just got my new external Plextor CDR and software here from MTU. It looks from the forums like I need to download the new ASPI as I have only been successful at making some Coasters for the trash... I am running Win98se... I'm connected via USB cable (USB 1 not 2)...
Can y'all give me some hints as I have burned plain audio cd's but this is all new.
One other thing.. When I go to copy a disc, it tries to bring up Windows media player....Do I need to disable that? Also when it starts to write the tracks to the blank cdr it tries to pull up my adaptec cd creator? Again do I need to disable that? also for the best quality burns what do ya'll recommend for read spped and write speed... I have a 633 pentium III with only 64k RAM (I know I need to take the time to order more mem)...
I am a KJ host and wish to make a set of copies of my CDG collection.
Any advice would be welcome!
Thanks!
Eric a.k.a The WallerMan...

jim in ohio
June 19th, 2002, 07:37 PM
Item one do down load the new ASPI, and check your Direct X version 8 is recomended.

Second, follow the MTU directions to shut off your AIN, this will stop your media player from cutting in.

Third, I had to uninstall adaptec, it is too easy to reinstall when I need it, but it was a problem when installed for me.

Memory, e-gad with the prices dropping you should drop in a 128K card for about $30, that would give you 192K which is what I use wIth no problem.

Hope this helps!!:w :w

I don't work off anything but back ups!! My orgionals stay in the closet untill I trash the back up.

I wish this forum had spell check!!!!!!!!!!!!:t

George
June 19th, 2002, 11:10 PM
Eric
I believe the DMA is to be turned on, but not until the installation is complete and you are ready to restart the computer. The Auto Insert Notification is to be turned off. I'd guess most of your problems are driver and memory related.