MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 4th, 2008, 07:14 PM
dbeland50 dbeland50 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bonaire, GA
Posts: 54
Transferring Complete Files to Another Computer

Well, I am thoroughly impressed with the way Hoster has allowed me to upload my old cdg/mp3 files from one external hard-drive, converts them over to KMA files, and saves them to another external hard-drive. However, have a question for those who know.
I am doing all my conversions on my desktop with the intention of uploading all the new KMA files (via external drive) to my presentation laptop. As such, would the easiest way to maintain the integrity of the songbook's association with the external drive's KMA files be by copying the MTU/Hoster folder off my "C" drive to the same folder location in the laptop's "C" drive? I would think this "mirror" would work smoothly, but need a second opinion.
Thanks for any guidance you can provide.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 4th, 2008, 09:39 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Only one way to find out...try it and see. I would either rename the folder on the laptop to Hoster_old or copy it to another location to preserve it, before you copy the desktop one to the laptop. If Hoster gives you all kinds of problems then delete the new folder and rename/move the original back.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 5th, 2008, 05:06 PM
dbeland50 dbeland50 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bonaire, GA
Posts: 54
Well folks, tried and succeeded...YEAH!! Directly copied the desktop's KMA file into the laptop's KMA file, the executed Hoster, selected SongDatabase, then hit Rebuild. It loaded everything perfectly. All I had to then was recreate the SongBook on the laptop & wha-lah!! Works great!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 5th, 2008, 08:00 PM
Beavis's Avatar
Beavis Beavis is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Berkshires
Posts: 2,759
thats why we always back up our files and keep them in a safe place !
__________________
The King of One Liners!

Windows 10

Hoster 5.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 5th, 2008, 08:59 PM
dbeland50 dbeland50 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bonaire, GA
Posts: 54
My plan is to keep the KMA files on the laptop for speed access & all the master files on my external. Folks...this software rocks. Anybody using anything else besides Hoster are crazy. Way to go MTU!! Can't wait to see future enhancements!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 8th, 2008, 06:57 PM
dbeland50 dbeland50 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bonaire, GA
Posts: 54
Another question for the Hoster gurus. The MTU folder titled Hoster...if I copy the entire contents over to the laptop from my desktop, similar to what I did with the external KMA file, will it screw up the software already loaded in the laptop? In other words, are there items in the Hoster folder that should not be over-written to protect the license integrity?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 8th, 2008, 07:25 PM
Beavis's Avatar
Beavis Beavis is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Berkshires
Posts: 2,759
the software needs to be installed, you cant drab and drop it on another computer. if you put all you KMA's on another computer that already has Kma's on it you will run into problems.
__________________
The King of One Liners!

Windows 10

Hoster 5.10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 9th, 2008, 01:42 AM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbeland50 View Post
Another question for the Hoster gurus. The MTU folder titled Hoster...if I copy the entire contents over to the laptop from my desktop, similar to what I did with the external KMA file, will it screw up the software already loaded in the laptop? In other words, are there items in the Hoster folder that should not be over-written to protect the license integrity?
It really isn't a good idea. Since those files pertain only to that installation, then yes you could mess-up your screen settings and datbase for the laptop installation. Nothing with the license part, but just the operation of the work you have already done in the laptop copy of Hoster.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 9th, 2008, 02:01 AM
dbeland50 dbeland50 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bonaire, GA
Posts: 54
Roger that...thanks for the update. Thought to try & report on results, but rather listen to those who know. Appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.