MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2009, 11:51 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Matshita DVD-Ram UJ870QJ. Wont import

I recently inherited a laptop computer from my sister. It is a Sony VGN-AR61E running Vista Home Premium. I have loaded Hoster 4.06 on to it and every thing works spot on and very fast except the DVD Rom. From the tools menu CD/DVD drives it shows the Matshita DVD-Ram UJ870QJ Kar Read Yes, Show Yes. Now if I try to import a Song from the import songs Menu CD Tracks, or from disk option next to the brand button it performs the operation perfectly although very fast to my existing system that is about 7 years old.
Now this is where it goes wrong, it shows in the play list as ready but when you play it I just get continuous clicks no other sound or graphics.
I have my existing Plextor Premium U Cd Writer which functions perfectly with this Sony Computer so am not too bothered if I can't get the integral drive to work except it would save having to hook something else up.

I have done all the updates except "silver light". and followed all the Vista recommended changes to the best of my knowledge.

If anybody else has this computer model or dvd drive, have you any ideas thank you.
  #2  
Old January 4th, 2009, 12:26 PM
billyo billyo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,202
have you tried updating the driver ?
__________________
BILLY O' WEEKEND.DJ
Las Vegas, NV
  #3  
Old January 4th, 2009, 01:41 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Yes. I have been on the sony website and installed all their updates.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
  #4  
Old January 4th, 2009, 02:47 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Run the Detect Again test in the CD\DVD tool. It will ask you to put in a disk (CDG) and then test to see if it can actually read it correctly.
Many laptop drives just can't handle the CDG format, even though they may be CD\DVD drives.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
  #5  
Old January 4th, 2009, 03:21 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Yes Dale I have tried that several times it always says can read but end result is always the same. I have been on the Sony update site but can not find a driver later than the one installed which is dated 21/06/06.
I have been trying to find the Matshita web site to no avail as yet.
Thanks for your input.
  #6  
Old January 4th, 2009, 04:05 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Have you tried deleting the Upper and Lower Filters to see if this helps? I can look up the procedure if you don't have it or can't find it.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
  #7  
Old January 4th, 2009, 06:16 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Hi Dale. I have not tried this deleting filters but I have seen a reference to it in another thread and while I was searching for Matshita web site. I shall find the info again tomorrow and let you know if it works.
  #8  
Old January 4th, 2009, 07:23 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Found the info for deleting upper & lower filters. Restarted computer but still the same result. As it didn't help should I replace them. I have not noticed anything detrimental in running the system without them as yet.
  #9  
Old January 4th, 2009, 07:28 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,737
In an older desktop tower I had, it came with a generic Matshita (made by Panasonic) cd rom that Hoster said would read with Hoster, but exhibited bad imports, audio/grahics both garbled. I had updated the drivers & software for it, but it never did get it to work, had to eventually use my Plextor in that particular case. You may just have to use your external Plextor as well.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
  #10  
Old January 4th, 2009, 08:18 PM
Beavis's Avatar
Beavis Beavis is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Berkshires
Posts: 2,758
i dont think sony has the firmware update for that drive.
__________________
The King of One Liners!

Windows 10

Hoster 5.10
  #11  
Old January 8th, 2010, 04:12 PM
seawolf seawolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lillian, AL
Posts: 83
Matshita Drives

I had the same trouble with my HP laptop and Vista. Reformatting & intsalling XPro solved the problem.

DC
  #12  
Old January 8th, 2010, 05:21 PM
billyo billyo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
I had the same trouble with my HP laptop and Vista. Reformatting & intsalling XPro solved the problem.

DC

thats' a lot of work just to get the cd/dvd to work, in imy opinion, it would be easy to just plugged in an ext. one..
__________________
BILLY O' WEEKEND.DJ
Las Vegas, NV
  #13  
Old January 8th, 2010, 05:41 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
That's what I did In the end.
This post is a year old now
Roy.
  #14  
Old January 8th, 2010, 07:03 PM
seawolf seawolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lillian, AL
Posts: 83
It wasn't just the CD drive, it was ALL of Vista. An external CD drive is just one more load on the system.

XP has run flawlessly sincce downgrading. We'll wait to see how Windows 7 handles things, but probably will stick with XP due to the lower overhead.

I guess that the good news is that Windows 7 sucks less than Vista.

DC
  #15  
Old January 9th, 2010, 01:57 AM
bryant's Avatar
bryant bryant is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winslow, Maine
Posts: 4,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
It wasn't just the CD drive, it was ALL of Vista. An external CD drive is just one more load on the system.

XP has run flawlessly sincce downgrading. We'll wait to see how Windows 7 handles things, but probably will stick with XP due to the lower overhead.

I guess that the good news is that Windows 7 sucks less than Vista.

DC
Exactly, I have heard for years that Vista sucks. So what did I do, nothing, no need to upgrade to something that rarely works (with the many other DJ programs I use as well). And..yes..Windows 7 STILL works only a bit better than vista did, with all the programs I work with. As a result, I have found no need to create problems so I have stayed with XP service pack 3, plain and simple.

I use what works best and stay with it. Simple concept.
__________________

  #16  
Old January 9th, 2010, 05:50 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
Apart from the original CD drive problem, having set my computer up as recommended I have not experienced any other problems with using Vista I think that MTU have ironed out all the bugs now. I think I would wait a while though before going over to Windows 7, give Microsoft time to sort out any bugs there

Roy.
  #17  
Old January 9th, 2010, 10:46 AM
seawolf seawolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lillian, AL
Posts: 83
More on Matshita drive

I have triple checked the settings recommended by MTU with the end result being the same. I am convinced that it rests in the Matshita drive firmware NOT with Vista or MTU. The drive will create CDG's that will play on my other units (6 in varying configurations) but all I get out of these two laptops is a "click, click, click, click, click" on playback.

DC

Last edited by seawolf; January 9th, 2010 at 10:47 AM. Reason: Clarification
  #18  
Old January 9th, 2010, 11:01 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,132
I don't worry about it any more, I just plug in my external Plextor CD writer drive that I have had for some years now and still performs flawlessly.
  #19  
Old January 9th, 2010, 11:20 AM
seawolf seawolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lillian, AL
Posts: 83
MS (More of the Same)

Roy

Same thing here for me and my clients with Vista. Spend the $ and quit worrying. However I have one hold out that is insistent---wanting the laptop drive to do it all...maybe in Windows 2nd Mellinium.

Cheers,

DC
  #20  
Old January 9th, 2010, 06:16 PM
Beavis's Avatar
Beavis Beavis is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Berkshires
Posts: 2,758
this thread is a year old !
__________________
The King of One Liners!

Windows 10

Hoster 5.10
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.