MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom

Singers & Hosts Wisdom Post how to be a great karaoke singer or host.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 20th, 2007, 02:11 PM
cdtoons cdtoons is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lake Elsinore,CA
Posts: 15
Problems getting display to monitor from laptop

I just got my laptop and am having a hard time getting a signal to the bigscreen I use at the bar. I tried changing display settings to no avail....Help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 20th, 2007, 02:58 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
First question is does your laptop support extended desktop? If so do you have it setup the way the manual tells you? And is the TV turned on and hooked up before you turn on the laptop, so laptop won't revert back to 1 screen?
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 20th, 2007, 03:53 PM
cdtoons cdtoons is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lake Elsinore,CA
Posts: 15
Laptop

Douglas, This is Rex Newport, You can look on my order and see...I got it about early Feb. The big screen is turned on when I start up my laptop. I am using s-video all the way. I just followed the instuctions to change things however I am away from the bar. I will try tonite...Rex
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 20th, 2007, 04:38 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdtoons View Post
Douglas, This is Rex Newport, You can look on my order and see...I got it about early Feb. The big screen is turned on when I start up my laptop. I am using s-video all the way. I just followed the instuctions to change things however I am away from the bar. I will try tonite...Rex
Rex,
No I can't look on your order, because I am not an MTU employee. I am just a customer like you. But if you bought the laptop from MTU then it has the capability to do extended desktop.
Also make sure the TV is set for the S-Video input and not on regular channels. If all that doesn't work I would suspect the S-video cable may be the wrong kind. There are 2 versions of S-video (4 pin and 7 pin).
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 21st, 2007, 11:38 AM
bryant's Avatar
bryant bryant is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winslow, Maine
Posts: 4,527
I know the physical difference, but exactly why and what are the other pins for and what do they do that the 4pin are not doing?
Does anyone know?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 11:12 AM
bobcox- with the Lord bobcox- with the Lord is offline
Frequent Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,227
7 pin is s-video/tv it has a composit signal for tv out.
4 pin is s-video only, no composit signal.
so if your computer has 7 pin you can use a 4 pin or a 7 pin adaptor to rca for composit signal.
__________________
Test Machine #1
Windows XP-PRO SP3
Dell 4700c P4 3.2 GHz
2 Gigs pc2-ddr 4200 Ram
seagate 320 Gig SATA Hard Drive
107 Gigs free
Internal Sound Card
NEC 6650a Internal DVD/RW Slimeline
Jaton Nvidia 8400GS-Ex 512 Megs Ram On Board
All windows Updates
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 12:48 PM
bryant's Avatar
bryant bryant is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winslow, Maine
Posts: 4,527
I guess my question now is:
When is there ever a 7-pin receiver on the other end?
In all cases I've experienced, a 4 pin adapter was required?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 04:53 PM
gduns - with the Lord's Avatar
gduns - with the Lord gduns - with the Lord is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,773
with 7 pin s-video you can attach a splitter, and you can have video in as well as video out. My hp has this. with 4 pin s-video it is only video out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 22nd, 2007, 10:52 PM
billyo billyo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,202
you can get a 7 pin to rca from www.s-video.com both of my laptops have a 7 pin i used to used an adaptor that cost a lot of money , bought the 7 pin to rca for a fraction of the cost of the adaptor and it work excellent.. ( this is by no means endorsing a co. ) just trying to help..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.