MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Songverter Software > Songverter Help

Songverter Help Post Songverter questions, tips and suggestions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 20th, 2009, 08:21 AM
gd123 gd123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 153
"MP3+G Karaoke Files (*.mp3, + *.cdg)" Conversion Problem

Version 1.20

When Converting .KMA (ORIGINAL .KMA WAS CDCDG IMPORTED) to Mp3+G, Songverter adds a tick (Sound Spike) to the beginning of the MP3.

This happens when converting .BIN to MP3+G as well.

Fortunately, I found a way around this problem with OTHER Software...as usual.

For those who will be waiting eons for a fix, and, who need to convert a .KMA back to MP3+G to preserve the ARTIST and TITLE information, use Songverter to convert to .BIN, then use MP3+G Toolz to convert to MP3+G and further conversion to .ZIP, if necessary, for long term storage on a HD.

No telling how many hours I have wasted prior to finding this problem.

Last edited by gd123; April 20th, 2009 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2009, 03:43 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
I find it very strange that you are the first and only person to have reported this when the program has been out for well over a month. I tested this and yes you are right it is there, but the level is so low that it should not cause any problems. I had to turn my volume all the way up just to barely hear it.
Do you really expect MTU to jump on such a minor problem instantaneously and especially since yours is the first report of this? I have no doubt MTU will look into this the next time they work on Songverter, but considering that this is a very minor and hardly noticable problem I doubt they will drop what they are doing to fix this at this time. However it certainly will not be eons as you suggest.
As a word of warning, it is not allowed to promote non-MTU programs in these forums.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 21st, 2009, 08:12 AM
MikeP MikeP is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gippsland Lakes, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,013
I cannot replicate this problem on my Vista PC.
I have converted several kma files to mp3g and they play perfectly.
__________________
MikeP

Test Computer 1. Medion PC Win 10 Home
Name: MedionWin8-PC
Processor AMD A8-5500 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3.20 Ghz
8Gb Ram 64bit OS
2. MEDION P7612 Windows 10 Home
Name Mike_P7612_17in
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6500 @ 2.10GHz, 2100 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
(RAM)4.00 GB
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/michael.pyne1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 07:57 AM
gd123 gd123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 153
Quote:
I have converted several kma files to mp3g and they play perfectly
Were your KMAs ORIGINALLY imported from CD...as in CDCDG? I stated I was converting:
Quote:
When Converting .KMA (ORIGINAL .KMA WAS CDCDG IMPORTED)
.

I wouldn't expect one to arrive at the same conclusion if one isn't following the same procedure.


Quote:
but considering that this is a very minor and hardly noticable problem I doubt they will drop what they are doing to fix this at this time
I went out to dinner the other night. Saw a big rat run across the kitchen floor. But, I figured, since only a little rat excrement may have been in my food, and, hardly noticeable, I enjoyed my meal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 12:18 PM
marklwood's Avatar
marklwood marklwood is offline
Honor Roll
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by gd123 View Post
I went out to dinner the other night. Saw a big rat run across the kitchen floor. But, I figured, since only a little rat excrement may have been in my food, and, hardly noticeable, I enjoyed my meal.
However, the rest of the customers that didn't know or see the rat fully enjoyed their meal. They may have even liked the addition of the wild rice to their rice pilaf. And since the health department had only one complaint about this, it wasn't made a top priority like the food poisoning at the other restaurant that involved hundreds of people. Rest assured though, because when they get a free moment, they do in fact check out each and every possible health code violation. Some just have a higher priority based on the number of people affected.

I love analogies.
__________________
Test machine:
Vista Home Premium / Toshiba Satelitte X205 / 2.0GHz Core2 Duo / 2GB memory / 2x NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:24 PM
MikeP MikeP is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gippsland Lakes, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,013
Quote:
Were your KMAs ORIGINALLY imported from CD...as in CDCDG? I stated I was converting:
I did say:
Quote:
I have converted several kma files to mp3g and they play perfectly
Further examination confirmed that the spike does exist - I was initially testing using headphones turned up as high as possible and did not hear it - and I was double clicking the song in Microstudio from the left column into the playlist which automatically triggers play. In that scenario there is no spike.
Once I played it using the normal controls and listened through my amplifier, it was apparent.
Clearly this is a bug that slipped under the radar and I have no doubt that it will be rectified asap - now that it has been brought to their attention.
Looks like you were the first one to find it.
__________________
MikeP

Test Computer 1. Medion PC Win 10 Home
Name: MedionWin8-PC
Processor AMD A8-5500 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3.20 Ghz
8Gb Ram 64bit OS
2. MEDION P7612 Windows 10 Home
Name Mike_P7612_17in
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6500 @ 2.10GHz, 2100 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
(RAM)4.00 GB
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/michael.pyne1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 3rd, 2009, 04:59 AM
gd123 gd123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 153
Quote:
Once I played it using the normal controls and listened through my amplifier, it was apparent.
Yes, thanks for the verification on a real sound system. Spike's quite noticeable at 800W.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 3rd, 2009, 01:28 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
It has been reported and will be look at next time they work on Songverter. That is all that can be done right now. There is no way for us (users) to fix it or get around it at this point in time.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.