MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom

Singers & Hosts Wisdom Post how to be a great karaoke singer or host.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 18th, 2013, 03:04 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Question Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

I'm getting ready to buy a new laptop before my old Vista decides to die. For those of you who have gone to Windows 8, can you tell me which works better with Hoster - Windows 7 or 8? I see that Windows 7 is getting hard to find, as I prefer staying with HP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 19th, 2013, 03:00 AM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,492
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
I'm getting ready to buy a new laptop before my old Vista decides to die. For those of you who have gone to Windows 8, can you tell me which works better with Hoster - Windows 7 or 8? I see that Windows 7 is getting hard to find, as I prefer staying with HP.
I've been looking around too. I've seen Win8 a friend has and I DO NOT want it.

I prefer to stick with Win7, but as you said, it's getting hearder to find!

I wonder, can you buy one with Win8 and then back down?
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 25th, 2013, 02:28 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,732
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

I don't care for the Win 8 platform. It's really designed to be used with a touch screen, the people I know that have it still have mouse and don't like it.
But it's also set up like their smart phone, so in that respect it would probably be easy if you already know the phone.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 26th, 2013, 02:00 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I don't care for the Win 8 platform. It's really designed to be used with a touch screen, the people I know that have it still have mouse and don't like it.
But it's also set up like their smart phone, so in that respect it would probably be easy if you already know the phone.
Thanks. Which would you choose: 8G Ram, AMD Radeon HD graphics OR 4G Ram, Intel HD 4000 graphics. TigerDirect has the best deals I can find anywhere on new HP's. (Think it's time to upgrade my old Vista.)

I wonder how many people are still running Shows on a 7yr old laptop with XP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 29th, 2013, 12:47 AM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Lightbulb Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Well, I made a decision and bought an HP with i5, 4G Ram & Intel HD 4000 graphics, with Win 7. Anxious to see how Hoster (and all MTU programs)will perform on it after using Vista for so long.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 29th, 2013, 02:06 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,732
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
I wonder how many people are still running Shows on a 7yr old laptop with XP.
I ran my show for quite a few months with my 6 yr old HP laptop with Vista while my main computer was dead - that one had XP too.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2013, 02:16 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I ran my show for quite a few months with my 6 yr old HP laptop with Vista while my main computer was dead - that one had XP too.
Did you run your shows with XP also? Most people that post that they do seem to be using older versions of Hoster. I am up-to-date, run my Shows (2-3 weekly) & do testing on my old Vista and it's still running smooth. But, I decided it was time to upgrade before something breaks & I have no choice but to go to Win8.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.