MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom > Buy & Sell

Buy & Sell This Forum is for our members to post whatever you have to buy and sell that is related to Karaoke.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 23rd, 2016, 07:19 PM
Chad Slater Chad Slater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 119
Vocal compressor Question

I am looking to purchase a compressor and have a few questions. First there are two I am looking at the DBX286S (a mic preamp/processor) or the DBX166XS (a all around dual compressor). My question is which or is there a better one that I should be looking at. I haven't purchased one of these before so I am just going off what I have read and watched. I am leaning to the DBX286s because I really only need the compression on the mic end not the music but I am uncertain if the DBX166 will give me something I am over looking and will need that the other won't. Any direction anyone can point me to would be appreciated! TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 24th, 2016, 03:59 PM
RIKKI TIKKI's Avatar
RIKKI TIKKI RIKKI TIKKI is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NOGALES, AZ.
Posts: 1,097
Re: Vocal compressor Question

Chad,

What is the task you are going to use the vocal compressor for?

i.e. Recording, Voice Overs, Live Shows, etc.

That may help in the recommendations...
__________________
Rick
Rikki Tikki Karaoke

Test Computer: Dell Precision M6700--Intel I7 3720 QM Quad 3rd Gen 2.6 ghz--16 gb Ram
Integrated Onboard Graphics, 2 gb DDR2 dedicated Video Memory--500 gb SSD & 1TB SATA HD--Windows 7 Pro--External HD WD 2 tb


Show Computer: Acer Aspire 7750G-6645--Intel i5 Core 2.5 ghz--4 gb RAM--WMP 12--IE 9--AMD Radeon HD 7670M, 1gb VRAM--500 gb HD--Windows 7 Home Premium -- 64 bit


External Optical Drives: Plextor 760A & 712A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 29th, 2016, 04:28 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,633
Re: Vocal compressor Question

The 286 will only work with 1 mic - you do not connect a compressor through an efx loop like you would a regular effect processor that can be used on all channels. If you want to compress more mics, you will need more compressors for each. Typical karaoke show has at least two mics so the dual channel would work better in that respect.
Also what kind of mixer will you be running the compressor with? Typically you will connect it via the channel 'insert' jack.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vocal compressor


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.