MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom

Singers & Hosts Wisdom Post how to be a great karaoke singer or host.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th, 2013, 02:41 AM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Karaoke with Laptop only???

How would one go about doing a karaoke show with a laptop, speakers, and mic only?

Is that possible using the MTU software?

Any specific ideas on how this would be setup would be appreciated, like mixing on the laptop? How to connect speakers and mic thru laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 6th, 2013, 04:21 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,714
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockrz View Post
How would one go about doing a karaoke show with a laptop, speakers, and mic only?

Is that possible using the MTU software?

Any specific ideas on how this would be setup would be appreciated, like mixing on the laptop? How to connect speakers and mic thru laptop?
Basically you can't plug your microphone into the laptop to mix the sound using Hoster, it's not impossible but not how Hoster is designed to run.

It is normal procedure to just run the audio out from the computer to a mixer, plug the mic's into the mixer then send the mixed sound to the speakers, most kj mixers have sound effects built in for adjusting echo and reverb into the mix which you only need on the mic side.

Another option is some speaker systems have a separate mic input so you can actually mix the sound with the audio out but I don't know any that would have echo & reverb built in.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 320 Gb Hard Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Laptop: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2013, 11:00 AM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

OK, any recommendations on a full featured mixer that is
reasonably priced, simple to us, and as small as possible?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 6th, 2013, 12:17 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,379
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockrz View Post
OK, any recommendations on a full featured mixer that is
reasonably priced, simple to use, and as small as possible?
If you will be a little more specific as to what you call reasonably priced, we may be able to help you.

Also, are you looking for a small home type system or a larger system for professional use?
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 6th, 2013, 01:30 PM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

It will be for public use, but starting out I wouldn't want to spend
more than around $1000 or so for mixer, speakers, and mic.

I already have the laptop and the MTU software.

Also, does brass tipped connectors mach alot of different in sound quality?
I hear brass is superior to chrome plated connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 6th, 2013, 05:05 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

I would go with something like the Yamaha MG124CX. Great board, compression on mic channels, decent effects built in.
For speakers you could go with a couple Mackie Thump TH-15A. Decent sounding speakers for the price.
I would also highly recommend adding a separate USB sound card interface like the Lexicon Alpha. It will make a night & day difference in the music coming from the laptop over the build in headphone jack.

Misc cords would be needed but all above (minus cords and mics) would run around $1000.
Might even consider adding the program Breakaway Audio Enhancer (you can demo test it for 30 days). A handful of people have sadi they experienced problems, but I think it has to do with wrong settings myself, I run it on all my computers without any problems. It helps normalize the volume of anything coming out of the computer - since different manus (and even sometimes within the same manu) don't record at the same volumes or have different finalizing processes, it really can make a difference as well and it's cheap!

With a $1000 budget system, the brass tips aren't going to make a huge audible impact over standard connectors. Save your money. I do recommend buying cords with a lifetime warranty though - you don't have to go as far as expensive as say Monster cords. I haven't paid for new cords in over 15 years. Bring them straight back to Guitar Center & exchange for new.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions

Last edited by Lonman; May 6th, 2013 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 6th, 2013, 07:35 PM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Sounds like good advice, thanx!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 6th, 2013, 11:04 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,379
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Lonman has some good suggestions, but each of us operate a little differently.

I do no use an external USB sound card. That is a personal preference. I use a Yamaha EMX 512 SC mixer/amp.

I have tried Breakaway twice with disasterous results. It doesn't work for everyone.

As far as cables, I've always used chrome plated with no problems at all...
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 6th, 2013, 11:32 PM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by kod View Post
I have tried Breakaway twice with disasterous results. It doesn't work for everyone.
So, what is Breakaway?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 7th, 2013, 01:41 AM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,379
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockrz View Post
So, what is Breakaway?
Breakaway is an audio enhancer and it does a good job for some people. If it works, it levels the audio sound coming out of your system.

Google Breakaway Audio Enhancer and read about it.

For some unknown reason, it does not work very well for me. I have tried numerous setting changes and nothing seems to fix the problems I've had. I get from no audio to garbled audio.

I've tried multiple setting that have been recommended here to no avail!
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 7th, 2013, 05:35 AM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

The external USB card (like the Lexicon) is a pro quality sound card that will make an mp3 (with all it's wavy artifacts) sound a lot closer to the original recording. I have not heard a system yet that hasn't been improved in a side by side comparison that is just using the stock sound card.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 7th, 2013, 11:02 PM
bryant's Avatar
bryant bryant is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winslow, Maine
Posts: 4,278
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by kod View Post

For some unknown reason, it does not work very well for me. I have tried numerous setting changes and nothing seems to fix the problems I've had. I get from no audio to garbled audio.

I've tried multiple setting that have been recommended here to no avail!
Same here on three other computers, and friends on forums that have also stated they cannot get it to work "Properly" with Hoster and/or other DJ programs.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 15th, 2013, 01:30 AM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I would go with something like the Yamaha MG124CX.
So, how does the Yamaha MG82CX compare?

I'm kinda thinking I'd like something smaller in size, yet I do like the idea of a board like this versus one of those all in one type units that provide alot less control.

And, is there someplace to get a smal-as-possible box to bolt this board in to along with maybe a wireless mic setup?

I guess I'd just set my laptop right in front on a table...

Just trying to imagine how all this will work out before I start throwing cash around.

And, what's the deal with BMI / ASCAP membership? Also, I heard if you play Christian music, there's yet another similar membership that is required... anybody know the name of that organization? I hear it's a membership that churches pay to join for playing published music.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 15th, 2013, 05:39 AM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

The Yamaha MG82CX is a smaller choice.
It only has 2 mic channels with built in compression, but the same effects. Knobs vs sliders.
Boxes for this board aren't readily available, more custom stuff. But you can certainly get one that the mixer goes on top & your wireless can be built into a rack unit.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 15th, 2013, 12:17 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,379
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
The Yamaha MG82CX is a smaller choice.
It only has 2 mic channels with built in compression, but the same effects. Knobs vs sliders.
Boxes for this board aren't readily available, more custom stuff. But you can certainly get one that the mixer goes on top & your wireless can be built into a rack unit.
Lonman,

The Yamaha MG82CX has four mic channels...
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 15th, 2013, 01:23 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by kod View Post
Lonman,

The Yamaha MG82CX has four mic channels...
But only 2 with built in compression which is what I stated. As opposed to 4 mic channels with compression on the mg124cx.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 15th, 2013, 03:37 PM
Rockrz Rockrz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 156
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Dumb question... what does compression do anyway?

Is that how the effects are implemented?

Also, is on board graphics capabilities found on the average laptop going to be enough to drive graphics? Or, is there an external graphics card that should be considered?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 15th, 2013, 03:49 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockrz View Post
Dumb question... what does compression do anyway?
Compression helps keep a singer that is all over the place volume wise to a more consistent level. You set the compressor to a certain point (threshold) and if a singer gets over that point, the compressor automatically turns the singer down to stay under that threshold.

Quote:
Is that how the effects are implemented?
No the effects are a separate section. You add effects via the effects knob on the channel you want effects on - primarily the vocals only in most karaoke.

Quote:
Also, is on board graphics capabilities found on the average laptop going to be enough to drive graphics? Or, is there an external graphics card that should be considered?
If the laptop is capable of extended desktop (screen) then the onboard graphics should be fine.
Although you will need to figure out what outputs you have. Most older laptops have an S-Video output that kj's used for the 2nd screens, but todays laptops only have either VGA, DVI or HDMI outputs - so you will need to either convert the signal so older TV's can be used or if the clubs are using newer TV's, have the VGA, DVI or HDMI cables long enough.
Also I have heard (never had to try myself) that the HDMI outputs do not work as extended screen and still leave the main laptop screen working for host.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 15th, 2013, 03:55 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,379
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
Although you will need to figure out what outputs you have. Most older laptops have an S-Video output that kj's used for the 2nd screens, but todays laptops only have either VGA, DVI or HDMI outputs - so you will need to either convert the signal so older TV's can be used or if the clubs are using newer TV's, have the VGA, DVI or HDMI cables long enough.

Also I have heard (never had to try myself) that the HDMI outputs do not work as extended screen and still leave the main laptop screen working for host.
Lonman,

I misread your post on the mics and you are correct. I was only thinking about total mic outputs.

I tried using a HDMI output for my monitor, but it didn't work for me!

I just use my VGA output...
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 15th, 2013, 04:04 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,690
Re: Karaoke with Laptop only???

Quote:
Originally Posted by kod View Post
Lonman,

I misread your post on the mics and you are correct. I was only thinking about total mic outputs.

I tried using a HDMI output for my monitor, but it didn't work for me!

I just use my VGA output...
Do you use an adapter or is the tv VGA ready?
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.