MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom

Singers & Hosts Wisdom Post how to be a great karaoke singer or host.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 18th, 2013, 04:04 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Question Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

I'm getting ready to buy a new laptop before my old Vista decides to die. For those of you who have gone to Windows 8, can you tell me which works better with Hoster - Windows 7 or 8? I see that Windows 7 is getting hard to find, as I prefer staying with HP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 19th, 2013, 04:00 AM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,416
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
I'm getting ready to buy a new laptop before my old Vista decides to die. For those of you who have gone to Windows 8, can you tell me which works better with Hoster - Windows 7 or 8? I see that Windows 7 is getting hard to find, as I prefer staying with HP.
I've been looking around too. I've seen Win8 a friend has and I DO NOT want it.

I prefer to stick with Win7, but as you said, it's getting hearder to find!

I wonder, can you buy one with Win8 and then back down?
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 25th, 2013, 03:28 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,716
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

I don't care for the Win 8 platform. It's really designed to be used with a touch screen, the people I know that have it still have mouse and don't like it.
But it's also set up like their smart phone, so in that respect it would probably be easy if you already know the phone.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 26th, 2013, 03:00 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I don't care for the Win 8 platform. It's really designed to be used with a touch screen, the people I know that have it still have mouse and don't like it.
But it's also set up like their smart phone, so in that respect it would probably be easy if you already know the phone.
Thanks. Which would you choose: 8G Ram, AMD Radeon HD graphics OR 4G Ram, Intel HD 4000 graphics. TigerDirect has the best deals I can find anywhere on new HP's. (Think it's time to upgrade my old Vista.)

I wonder how many people are still running Shows on a 7yr old laptop with XP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 29th, 2013, 01:47 AM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Lightbulb Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Well, I made a decision and bought an HP with i5, 4G Ram & Intel HD 4000 graphics, with Win 7. Anxious to see how Hoster (and all MTU programs)will perform on it after using Vista for so long.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 29th, 2013, 03:06 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,716
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
I wonder how many people are still running Shows on a 7yr old laptop with XP.
I ran my show for quite a few months with my 6 yr old HP laptop with Vista while my main computer was dead - that one had XP too.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2013, 03:16 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I ran my show for quite a few months with my 6 yr old HP laptop with Vista while my main computer was dead - that one had XP too.
Did you run your shows with XP also? Most people that post that they do seem to be using older versions of Hoster. I am up-to-date, run my Shows (2-3 weekly) & do testing on my old Vista and it's still running smooth. But, I decided it was time to upgrade before something breaks & I have no choice but to go to Win8.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 29th, 2013, 03:25 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,716
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

I ran XP up until Oct last year when my show computer died. When I got the new computer it came with Win 7 Pro so I stuck with it. I will NOT get 8 until absolutely necessary. Win 7 should be supported for quite a few years before it's pushed off.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 29th, 2013, 05:09 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I ran XP up until Oct last year when my show computer died. When I got the new computer it came with Win 7 Pro so I stuck with it. I will NOT get 8 until absolutely necessary. Win 7 should be supported for quite a few years before it's pushed off.
So was it your Vista laptop that died? Your specs say it had an Intel processor. Guess I've been lucky my AMD is still running good. In fact, I have never had anything die on me yet. Guess I get a new one before anything happens. I hope to have my new one up & running by this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 29th, 2013, 05:18 PM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,716
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
So was it your Vista laptop that died? Your specs say it had an Intel processor. Guess I've been lucky my AMD is still running good. In fact, I have never had anything die on me yet. Guess I get a new one before anything happens. I hope to have my new one up & running by this weekend.
No it was my XP show system that died. Motherboard fried. The Vista laptop was my backup, but I ran it from Oct to May I think it was, 7 nights a week.
And my mistake the replacement show system has Win 7 Home Prem. My test computer has Pro.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 29th, 2013, 05:31 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
No it was my XP show system that died. Motherboard fried. The Vista laptop was my backup, but I ran it from Oct to May I think it was, 7 nights a week.
And my mistake the replacement show system has Win 7 Home Prem. My test computer has Pro.
Thanks for sharing. So, it sounds like I bought the right thing - Win7 Pro. Installing Windows Updates now. Surprised how fast it's doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 29th, 2013, 10:40 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,416
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonman View Post
I ran XP up until Oct last year when my show computer died. When I got the new computer it came with Win 7 Pro so I stuck with it. I will NOT get 8 until absolutely necessary. Win 7 should be supported for quite a few years before it's pushed off.
I totally agree with you on Win8. I'll stick with Win7 until I'm FORCED to Win8.

Does anyone know if you can back down from Win8 to Win7 if you're forced to purchase a computer with Win8?
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 30th, 2013, 12:02 AM
Lonman Lonman is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,716
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

If you reformat your hard drive you should be able to load it with whatever you have - provided all of the hardware is compatible to run on the Win 7 platform - which i'd bet it would be.
Or you may be able to set up a partition on your OS hard drive and load Win 7 on that section having a choice of OS when you boot up. Not sure how that works though.
__________________

Show PC Lenovo nVidia 3.2ghz proc
Win 8.1 64bit
Vid: nVidia GT720 2gb mem
Aud: Lexicon Alpha
Mem: 8gb ram
HD: 1tb int/1tb int
Test PC ASUS AMD 4ghz 8 core proc
Win 7 Pro 32 bit

Vid: LP Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - 1GB
Aud: Lexicon Omega USB I/O Interface
Mem: 16gb ram
HD: 1TB/1TB

Like us on Facebook http://facebook.com/lonmanproductions
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 30th, 2013, 02:04 AM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by kod View Post
I totally agree with you on Win8. I'll stick with Win7 until I'm FORCED to Win8.

Does anyone know if you can back down from Win8 to Win7 if you're forced to purchase a computer with Win8?

HP gives you a choice. Win7 is considered a downgrade from Win8.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 30th, 2013, 08:17 PM
RIKKI TIKKI's Avatar
RIKKI TIKKI RIKKI TIKKI is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NOGALES, AZ.
Posts: 1,123
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
HP gives you a choice. Win7 is considered a downgrade from Win8.
When Vista came out and all the betas were having problems running Hoster... I downgraded to XP when I bought a new computer... been 3 or 4 yrs now, and running XP on my Show laptop, and Windows 7 on my test computer (Acer)... haven't heard anything good about Win 8, so I'll hold off until absolutely necessary!
__________________
Rick
Rikki Tikki Karaoke

Test Computer: Dell Precision M6700--Intel I7 3720 QM Quad 3rd Gen 2.6 ghz--16 gb Ram
Integrated Onboard Graphics, 2 gb DDR2 dedicated Video Memory--500 gb SSD & 1TB SATA HD--Windows 7 Pro--External HD WD 2 tb


Show Computer: Acer Aspire 7750G-6645--Intel i5 Core 2.5 ghz--4 gb RAM--WMP 12--IE 9--AMD Radeon HD 7670M, 1gb VRAM--500 gb HD--Windows 7 Home Premium -- 64 bit


External Optical Drives: Plextor 760A & 712A
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 30th, 2013, 08:24 PM
kod kod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,416
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybird74 View Post
HP gives you a choice. Win7 is considered a downgrade from Win8.


I Googled it and what I read is "IF" you buy a system with Win8 "PRO" (more expensive) there is a way to back down to Win7.

This is an excerpt from the article:

Hewlett-Packard is typical: It does not support downgrades of consumer-grade Windows 8 PCs to Windows 7. But if you buy a machine loaded with Windows 8 Pro, you can make the jump. HP's policy is based on Microsoft's licensing terms, which support downgrade rights only to new PCs preloaded with Windows 8 Pro, the version of Windows designed for business.

Unfortunately, machines loaded with Windows 8 Pro will demand a pricing premium over similarly spec'd Windows 8 systems. We ran a quick comparison survey of machines from HP, Dell, and Toshiba, and found that an upgrade to the Pro version of Windows 8 increased system prices anywhere between $35 and $100.

Me... I will gladly pay the difference!
__________________
KOD
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old July 30th, 2013, 08:57 PM
Skybird74 Skybird74 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,881
Re: Windows 7 or 8 for Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIKKI TIKKI View Post
When Vista came out and all the betas were having problems running Hoster... I downgraded to XP when I bought a new computer... been 3 or 4 yrs now, and running XP on my Show laptop, and Windows 7 on my test computer (Acer)... haven't heard anything good about Win 8, so I'll hold off until absolutely necessary!
I was answering KOD's question. He wanted to know if you can back down from Win8 to Win7. I already posted that I had already purchased an HPi5 with WIN7. That's how I know they would support a downgrade.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.