MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Microeditor Software > Microeditor Help - Versions 5.0-5.5

Microeditor Help - Versions 5.0-5.5 Discussions for Microeditor versions that use Krystal DSP Engine audio card

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 10th, 2004, 01:54 PM
DAMON SCOTT DAMON SCOTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Angry Help With An Error

RIGHT DURING WORKING ON A PROJECT I GET AN ERROR BOX STATING THAT THE MTUMSND.SYS DRIVER DEVICE IS NOT LOADED OR FUNCTIONING PROPERLY ... IT ASKS ME TO MAKE SURE THAT THE MTUMSND DEVICE HAS BEEN STARTED ... CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT I NEED TO DO ????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 11th, 2004, 10:48 AM
geezer geezer is offline
Frequent Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 181
....more info needed.

Although I will probably not be able to give you any specific help, those that can (a la MTU) will definitely need to know what version you are running, what system/motherboard you have, what operating system you are using, etc. before they could analyze the situation.

Posting all this will help. Think about any recent changes (cards, devices or software installed) when posting your list.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 11th, 2004, 10:29 PM
DAMON SCOTT DAMON SCOTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Re: ....more info needed.

Quote:
Originally posted by geezer
Although I will probably not be able to give you any specific help, those that can (a la MTU) will definitely need to know what version you are running, what system/motherboard you have, what operating system you are using, etc. before they could analyze the situation.

Posting all this will help. Think about any recent changes (cards, devices or software installed) when posting your list.
WELL GEEZER THANKS FOR YOUR HELP, I'M REALLY IN A BIND HERE ... I'M REALLY BAD WITH ALOT OF THIS STUFF, WHAT I CAN TELL YOU IS THAT I BOUGHT THE SYSTEM LAST YEAR ... IT'S OPERATING SYSTEM IS WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL, ITS MICRO EDITOR 5.5.0.0., MAYBE THE ATTACHMENT WILL HELP YOU ... I HAVEN'T ADDED A THING SINCE I GOT IT, AND THE ERROR CAME UP IN THE MIDDLE OF A SESSION, SO I AM AT A LOSS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 12th, 2004, 10:21 AM
DAMON SCOTT DAMON SCOTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
wierd

attention geezer: monday morning, turn on the microeditor, problem gone, obviously i'm thrilled, but now i'm concerned as to when it may crop up again, thanks for your help, maybe m.t.u. will have some insight as to what caused it and how to prevent it from happening again ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 5th, 2004, 04:28 PM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

I am getting the same error message as Damon - MTUMSND.SYS driver not loaded or is not functioning properly - please make sure the MTUMSND.SYS device has been started.

I just completed building a new system to MTU's specs (using one of the two mobos Bryan said they use in the audio workstations) with a 2.6gig P4 processor. The mobo and processor were burned and tested before they were shipped to me. The only thing I didn't use was Windows XP Pro, opting instead for the Home version, which I don't think should make a difference.

I can't get the 5.50 software to load. I get that same error message.

It did work once on the bench after it was first assembled, and even that was after spending 5 hours trying to load the software. Then the Krystal card was removed so I could transport the new system home. Once it was reinstalled, I couldn't get the software to load (again) from the disk.

I read in one of the posts to make sure the video was on 16 bit, which it is. Otherwise the computer doesn't seem to see the card at all. The computer does say that there's a driver called MTUMSND.VXP or something like that installed. The on-board audio stuff has been disabled.

I've been trying for days trying to get the software to load but to no avail. HELP! I have a HUGE project due on Monday night, and I'm completely dead in the water. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Laura
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 5th, 2004, 05:10 PM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,238
Re: Help With An Error

The only thing that I know that can cause this is if the DSP board has gotten some dirty contacts or a bad connection in the PCI slot. What you might want to do is pull the Krystal card out of the computer and clean the contacts wtih a Q-tip and some rubbing alcohol.

You may also try pulling the turning the computer off, when this happens. Once the system is powered down, pull the power cord out of the back of the computer for at least 1 minute, or it will not work. Then once you have done this, reboot the system and see if it then works.

Sometimes, the motherboards don't get the correct Power at the time of bootup, so the DSP board doesn't get the correct voltage to reset the Krystal board on startup. This is why discharging the power supply and then plugging it back in can sometimes fix this problem.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 5th, 2004, 05:13 PM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,238
Re: Help With An Error

Laura,
Click Ok for this error message that you are speaking of. Once you do this, it will finish the Installtion. Then you MUST Reboot the computer, then you will have 5.5 installed.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 6th, 2004, 01:48 PM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

Ok, the software is loaded in. It says it's 5.4, but I'm pretty sure that's a typo.

I keep getting the error message about MTUMSND.SYS when I click on the desktop icon to run the program. I tried pulling the plug, waiting a while then rebooting, but that didn't work. Will try cleaning the connectors tonight and see how that goes.

Thanks, Bryan.
Laura
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 6th, 2004, 05:59 PM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,238
Re: Help With An Error

Laura,
Clean the connectors for sure. You are correct about the Typo in the installation, about 5.4. If you click on Help, about Microeditor when it does open, it should say 5.500.

If cleaning the connectors still doesn't work, you might want to move the board to a different PCI Slot, you might have a flakey one. Try that and let me know what happens.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 7th, 2004, 12:05 PM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

Bryan,

It's working now. What did the trick was swapping out the Krystal card for an extra one that I had. Looks like the one I was trying to use might have been bad. Is there any way to send this one to you for testing to make sure before I toss it?

I did clean the connectors on the original card and move it to another slot. Upon rebooting, the computer did see that there was new hardware installed, but it couldn't seem to find the driver to activate it. The Microeditor project screen did pop up and I thought I might've been in business, but then I got another error message that unfortunately I didn't jot down. I think it said something about not being able to locate a .dll file.

Now for a new question. I can't get Microtools 2.0 to work. It tells me that it appears that I don't have Microeditor version 2.6 or higher installed, and to please do so.

This isn't a new message. Something happened with Microtools with my last version (5.2c). It just stopped working and I started getting that message. Both programs (Microeditor and Microtools) were installed in the C drive, just as the installation led me through it. I've not changed any of the file or folder names. Any ideas?

Thanks again,
Laura
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 7th, 2004, 03:32 PM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

And something else I've discovered - I don't seem to have any ability to use the EQ on this. That entire pulldown menu is blank (well, I can see the options, but they're in the light, un-clickable text) except for the one at the bottom about DirectX plug Ins, whatever those are.

???

Laura
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 8th, 2004, 07:58 AM
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 10,515
Re: Help With An Error

EQ is a separate .dll, which may be the one that is not being found. Something is wrong here. We have never had so many problems on loading and running Microeditor. I wonder if your computer/Windows XP Home may not be set up right.

I would suggest reinstalling Microeditor so the EQ .dll is installed correctly.

Please run dxdiag (see the FAQ section for instructions) and attach the log to your post here. That may give MTUSUPPORT some insight to what is happening.
__________________
Making Karaoke the best it can be!
http://www.mtu.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old August 8th, 2004, 02:44 PM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

Bryan,

I've attached the Dxdiag log, as well as emailed it as an attachment to mtusupport. Thanks for looking at this.

Laura
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old August 9th, 2004, 10:53 AM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,238
Re: Help With An Error

Laura,
MicroTools is unable to run under XP. It would only run with earlier versions of Microedtior under 98. This is your problem for MicroTools.

There is no Dll for the EQ, this has to be something else. There is a seperate .dll for the DirectX Plugin, this is working, because you are seeing this.

Also, when the computer first boots up and you get the New hardware wizard, you must click next all the way through this, there is no driver, until you click Finish or it will never work correctly. So if you are still getting the Add New Hardware wizard, then click all the way through it so that Windows can allow Microeditor to use the board.

About testing the board, it is possible if you would like. There will be some type of charge for us to test it for you.

If you are still having problems, you may want to Uninstall Microeditor. Go to your C:\Medit folder, delete the files out fo this folder. Then reboot the computer. Then reinstall Microeditor again to make sure that you have all the correct files installed for Microeditor 5.5.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old September 12th, 2004, 12:45 AM
LauraShaw1 LauraShaw1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Re: Help With An Error

Hi Bryan,

I'll be in contact with you about testing the board. I don't want to pitch it until I know for certain it's shot.

Does MTU have a newer version of MicroTools that works with 5.5?

Haven't yet tried to reinstall to get the EQ to work, but will do that soon.

-Laura
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old September 13th, 2004, 11:13 AM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,238
Re: Help With An Error

Laura,
There is no way to make MicroTools work with Windows Xp or 2000 or Microeditor 5.5.

It would only run with older versions of Microeditor and Windows 98SE.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.