MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Songverter Software > Songverter Help

Songverter Help Post Songverter questions, tips and suggestions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 10th, 2011, 07:07 PM
baransy baransy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
KMA to MP3+G question

I have 8000 KMA files that are files I ripped from cd+g using Hoster. My question is, when I "convert" these files from KMA to MP+G.... will they keep the song, artist, file ID etc? so they can be searched and found using other programs such as Virtual DJ or PCDJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 10th, 2011, 07:55 PM
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 10,515
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Sorry, no.
__________________
Making Karaoke the best it can be!
http://www.mtu.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 10th, 2011, 07:57 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,890
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Yes, but it will add the disc ID to the beginning of the file name as this example: AH2000-01 - Meat Loaf - Paradise By The Dashboard Lights.mp3
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 320 Gb Hard Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Laptop: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 10th, 2011, 11:20 PM
baransy baransy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Admin from MTU says "sorry no" ??? Mr Dennis says yes but with fine name listed in front of song and artist. MTU also will not reply to my Hoster 5.0 crashes after purchasing 8 copies and they wont reply to my purchasing Songverter 1.0 and it NEVER working and me requesting an upgrade to one that might actually work with a simple question. "Sorry NO" seems to be a theme with MTU. But why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 11th, 2011, 01:47 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Quote:
Originally Posted by baransy View Post
Admin from MTU says "sorry no" ??? Mr Dennis says yes but with fine name listed in front of song and artist. MTU also will not reply to my Hoster 5.0 crashes after purchasing 8 copies and they wont reply to my purchasing Songverter 1.0 and it NEVER working and me requesting an upgrade to one that might actually work with a simple question. "Sorry NO" seems to be a theme with MTU. But why?
If you are having problems with Hoster 5.0, then this is the thread you need to post your details of the problem:
http://forum.mtu.com/showthread.php?t=12577
If you can do that then it will help them to narrow down the causes of the crashes.

Did you submit a support ticket on the Hoster crashes? If so when?
Did you get an auto-reply message back with your ticket number in it.

When did you purchase Songverter 1.0 and when did you notify them it wasn't working?
What operating system are you using on the computer for Songverter?
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 11th, 2011, 04:40 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,890
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

To elaborate on my previous answer.
Before I answered you I converted the first four KMA files that were in a test folder on my computer using Songverter version 1.30.
I converted from AH2000-1.Kma which after conversion to Mp3+G
Showed as AH2000-01 - Meat Loaf - Paradise By The Dashboard Lights.mp3 along with it's .cdg file of the same name.
I then opened my own Virtual DJ program and search for them, when you search for them in Virtual DJ it lists as Title "Meat Loaf - Paradise By The Dashboard" Artist As "AH2000-01" They do play alright.

Now if you converted your files in Hoster like this then they will not then play in Hoster unless you re-import them as kmh files.

Alternately you would have to have a complete copy of each, 1 copy as kma for Hoster and another as the converted Mp3+g to run in your DJ program thus taking up twice as much space as they use at present.

For songverter to write the mp3+g files you need to have Lame enc.dll installed on your computer.

Hope this makes things clearer.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 320 Gb Hard Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Laptop: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 11th, 2011, 07:23 PM
bryant's Avatar
bryant bryant is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winslow, Maine
Posts: 4,350
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Dennis View Post
To elaborate on my previous answer.
Before I answered you I converted the first four KMA files that were in a test folder on my computer using Songverter version 1.30.
I converted from AH2000-1.Kma which after conversion to Mp3+G
Showed as AH2000-01 - Meat Loaf - Paradise By The Dashboard Lights.mp3 along with it's .cdg file of the same name.
I then opened my own Virtual DJ program and search for them, when you search for them in Virtual DJ it lists as Title "Meat Loaf - Paradise By The Dashboard" Artist As "AH2000-01" They do play alright.

Now if you converted your files in Hoster like this then they will not then play in Hoster unless you re-import them as kmh files.

Alternately you would have to have a complete copy of each, 1 copy as kma for Hoster and another as the converted Mp3+g to run in your DJ program thus taking up twice as much space as they use at present.

For songverter to write the mp3+g files you need to have Lame enc.dll installed on your computer.

Hope this makes things clearer.
I remember a few years back I tried to convert ALL my kma's (12,000) back to that format for use in VDJ just to have a backup program for karaoke (although VDJ is not really designed for that, but is somewhat acceptable).
About 15 of every 100 converted did not convert back to mp3+cdg, there was some errors in doing so. So when I got into 1000 of them, only about 15% were converted over. I can't quite remember, but I think it stopped at every one that errored and didn't convert, and I would have to begin the proces again where I left off. I never finished the project as a result.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 11th, 2011, 09:38 PM
baransy baransy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks and help!

Thanks ton Roy!

Bryant, I experience the same thing with 1.0 BUT Im hoping the latest songverter WORKS

I think is interesting that MTU admin reply is as short and NON helpful and wrong and others are here to help.

ddouglass yes I submitted 5.0 email May 4th got an auto reply and a then a real reply on May 6th reply from support that reads...

"I just got a fixed version, been working in customers computer all day long today. We hope it may work.

You can download it from here http://download.mtu.com/hoster5.01.zip

This should have a fix for the Editing of the singers crash in it. This is the only item I know that was fixed. Please give me any details you can about what the issues are you that you are having. I need to know, as we really want to fix them all. Would you be available today?

Name: mtusupport


I have not had a reply since and its May 11th : (

I love Hoster 3 as it was great but with crashing problems in 4 and huger problems in 5 I need a back up program for Hoster as they let my show go down last week. Not cool after buying 4 copies at 200.00 each

Hoster has replied and offered an upgrade for Songverter and I don't see any other options as all my karaoke songs are KMA. I hate being a slave to 1 software company and esp when I can chat live, email in 24 hours or get them on the phone.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 12th, 2011, 01:31 AM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Re: Thanks and help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baransy View Post
ddouglass yes I submitted 5.0 email May 4th got an auto reply and a then a real reply on May 6th reply from support that reads...

"I just got a fixed version, been working in customers computer all day long today. We hope it may work.

You can download it from here http://download.mtu.com/hoster5.01.zip

This should have a fix for the Editing of the singers crash in it. This is the only item I know that was fixed. Please give me any details you can about what the issues are you that you are having. I need to know, as we really want to fix them all. Would you be available today?

Name: mtusupport


I have not had a reply since and its May 11th : (
Did you download the 5.01?
Did you reply back with the details? If you did that doesn't mean they have a fix for your problem yet.
Also I don't see any posts in the thread in Hoster Help that I pointed you to for providing details of your problem.
Hoster 5.0 had just been released about the time you ordered it. Admin had also created the thread for everyone to post any problems they found. By everyone posting their problems in one location then it is easier to see a pattern. The more details you can give the easier it is for them to try to duplicate and fix. If they cannot duplicate it then they can't fix it.

Were you running 4 licenses of version 3 before this?
What operating system are you running on all these computers?
How much Ram?
What else is running on these computers?
There are many factors that can effect how well your computer can run Hoster. The program has grown at least twice the size it was with version 3 and requires more processing speed and power than version 3 as well as Ram.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.

Last edited by ddouglass; May 12th, 2011 at 01:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 12th, 2011, 03:56 PM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,218
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Quote:
ddouglass yes I submitted 5.0 email May 4th got an auto reply and a then a real reply on May 6th reply from support that reads...

"I just got a fixed version, been working in customers computer all day long today. We hope it may work.

You can download it from here http://download.mtu.com/hoster5.01.zip

This should have a fix for the Editing of the singers crash in it. This is the only item I know that was fixed. Please give me any details you can about what the issues are you that you are having. I need to know, as we really want to fix them all. Would you be available today?

Name: mtusupport
I did not hear anything back about the version 5.01. It should have fixed the issue you were also having, possibly with the incorrect parameters. Did you download and try this?

Quote:
Hoster has replied and offered an upgrade for Songverter and I don't see any other options as all my karaoke songs are KMA. I hate being a slave to 1 software company and esp when I can chat live, email in 24 hours or get them on the phone.
I had extended your date on Songverter so that you could install the current version. You have not yet done this.

Please give me the answers to your issues, of what/where it crashes exactly. We are trying to fix these items, and will work with you. I have not yet had any hard specifics about your problems with Hoster 5.01. Please give these details to me.
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 12th, 2011, 04:10 PM
RIKKI TIKKI's Avatar
RIKKI TIKKI RIKKI TIKKI is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NOGALES, AZ.
Posts: 1,123
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Bryan,

I too have just started having a couple of mp3 files that will either crash songverter, or register as a corrupt file and not convert... At the time of error or crash I am attempting to convert mp3 to wav... and then use vogone to remove vocals from the converted wav file for a khpro project. I have only been using khpro, vogone, and songverter for a month or so, but this is the first time that I have had a file that songverter would not convert! Is there anything that I should be weary of, that may be causing these shutdowns/errors that I can report back with pertinent information?
__________________
Rick
Rikki Tikki Karaoke

Test Computer: Dell Precision M6700--Intel I7 3720 QM Quad 3rd Gen 2.6 ghz--16 gb Ram
Integrated Onboard Graphics, 2 gb DDR2 dedicated Video Memory--500 gb SSD & 1TB SATA HD--Windows 7 Pro--External HD WD 2 tb


Show Computer: Acer Aspire 7750G-6645--Intel i5 Core 2.5 ghz--4 gb RAM--WMP 12--IE 9--AMD Radeon HD 7670M, 1gb VRAM--500 gb HD--Windows 7 Home Premium -- 64 bit


External Optical Drives: Plextor 760A & 712A
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 12th, 2011, 05:43 PM
ddouglass ddouglass is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ace, TX (5 miles past Nowhere)
Posts: 9,395
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIKKI TIKKI View Post
Bryan,

I too have just started having a couple of mp3 files that will either crash songverter, or register as a corrupt file and not convert... At the time of error or crash I am attempting to convert mp3 to wav... and then use vogone to remove vocals from the converted wav file for a khpro project. I have only been using khpro, vogone, and songverter for a month or so, but this is the first time that I have had a file that songverter would not convert! Is there anything that I should be weary of, that may be causing these shutdowns/errors that I can report back with pertinent information?
Rick, unfortunately there are many different variations of MP3 files and some Songverter may not handle. Have you tried running the file through Vogone first as it will work with mp3 files, then convert in Songverter. Vogone should save the file in a compatible MP3 format that Songverter will accept.
__________________
Dale Douglass
2nd Generation Karaoke
I am not a member of the MTU Staff.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 12th, 2011, 06:09 PM
RIKKI TIKKI's Avatar
RIKKI TIKKI RIKKI TIKKI is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NOGALES, AZ.
Posts: 1,123
Re: KMA to MP3+G question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddouglass View Post
Rick, unfortunately there are many different variations of MP3 files and some Songverter may not handle. Have you tried running the file through Vogone first as it will work with mp3 files, then convert in Songverter. Vogone should save the file in a compatible MP3 format that Songverter will accept.
I'll give it a try... thanks!
__________________
Rick
Rikki Tikki Karaoke

Test Computer: Dell Precision M6700--Intel I7 3720 QM Quad 3rd Gen 2.6 ghz--16 gb Ram
Integrated Onboard Graphics, 2 gb DDR2 dedicated Video Memory--500 gb SSD & 1TB SATA HD--Windows 7 Pro--External HD WD 2 tb


Show Computer: Acer Aspire 7750G-6645--Intel i5 Core 2.5 ghz--4 gb RAM--WMP 12--IE 9--AMD Radeon HD 7670M, 1gb VRAM--500 gb HD--Windows 7 Home Premium -- 64 bit


External Optical Drives: Plextor 760A & 712A
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conversion, kma, mp3+g, tags


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.