MTU.Community

Go Back   MTU.Community > Singers & Hosts Wisdom

Singers & Hosts Wisdom Post how to be a great karaoke singer or host.

Old October 26th, 2004, 02:49 PM

New Singers

I am looking for suggestions from other KJs on this matter. How do you handle new singers that come in near the end of your night? I run into this alot. My gig usually goes 9p-1a and it never fails that someone will come in at 12:30 when I have a rotation of about 25 singer and complain because of the wait. If you try to get them in for 1 song they complain cause the can't sing more. If I do get them in, then the people that have been there all evening complain. This to me is a no win. Any suggestions or thoughts on the subject?
Old October 26th, 2004, 03:34 PM

Re: New Singers

You hit the nail on the head. It is a no win situation. Your not going to please everyone. I've been doing karaoke part time now for 4 years. Currently doing a 3 night gig at the same place now for 3 years. I only say this to give credit to what I'm going to say. 3 years, three nights a week at the same place does say you're doing something right. I normally get $225 a night for four hours. However since this particular place is having me there three nights (Sunday, Monday & Wednesday) a week I am only charging them $150 for 4 hours; $50 an hour past that. I never work more than an extra hour. (Have to keep up my day job.lol)

Anyway, back to my rat killin',...whatever system you use is fine as long as you're consistant and fair. Don't bump your friends up in line; don't take money to bump someone up. I've been offered $500 to bump someone up. Talk about the embarssement when you let the crowd know what was just offered. Some say I'm stupid for not taking advantage of situations like that, but if you ever do it once, then you're labeled. My crowd knows I'm fair and they don't argue.