MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 21st, 2020, 07:34 PM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 476
Problem with USB Headphone Plug

My headphone outlet on my laptop doesn\\\'t work, so I bought a usb outlet for my speakers. It quit working after about a year. I purchased a new one and installed it It came up as 2-Realtek USB2.0 A, so I accepted it. I then opened Hoster (6.01.05) and tried to play a song, but the music only came out of the laptop. I then opened Tools, Settings then Audio. It had 2 choices. #1- Playlist Audio Card - Speakers (Realtek High Definiti #2- Second Audio Card - Headphones (2- Realtek USB2.0 A. I chose #2 as default and it only played on laptop. I then chose #1 as default, and it only played on the laptop. At one point while playing around, a test came up and I hit OK, then 3 music tones came out of the left speaker and then 3 music tones came out of the right speaker. I then tried to play a song and once again it came out of the laptop. I don\\\'t understand how #1 and #2 both say Realtek. I just don\\\'t know what to do at this point. Any advice at this point would be a blessing.

Thanks,
Ernie
  #2  
Old May 22nd, 2020, 07:05 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,257
Re: Problem with USB Headphone Plug

You need to set your USB sound card as the default card in Windows sound settings first before starting Hoster.
If your running windows 10.
1) right click on speaker icon on taskbar and select “open sound settings”
2) Where it reads “Choose your output device” make sure that shows as your (Realtek USB2.0 A the same one you want to use as Primary in Hoster.
3)On the right hand side of the dialog select “Sound control Panel”
4) You should now be in the old sound settings dialog, check that that is showing your Realtek USB2.0 A as the default device, if not select it and set as default.
5) Now while your in this dialog if there are any other sound devices showing that you don’t use disable them. For instance HDMI output . Then OK again to exit the sound settings.
You could also disable (Realtek High Definition) one then it won’t keep popping up
Now start Hoster and set the Primary and secondary cards if a second one is available or you use a separate audio card for The BA player in Hosters sound settings press apply and close.

Now see if it works.

One thing I will point out as it’s a USB card, if you remove it then windows may re allocate the Realtek HD device as the default.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.

Last edited by Roy Dennis; May 22nd, 2020 at 07:11 AM.
  #3  
Old May 22nd, 2020, 11:42 AM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 476
Re: Problem with USB Headphone Plug

Roy, I should have mentioned I have Windows 7 on the laptop. Does that make a difference?

Thanks,
Ernie
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2020, 01:48 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,257
Re: Problem with USB Headphone Plug

Try Control Panel/Sound/ Playback Tab then follow on from instruction 4 above.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2020, 02:01 PM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 476
Re: Problem with USB Headphone Plug

Roy, I used the first page you sent me and was able to understand enough of the instructions that I was able to fix it. Once again, thank you for always being there to help.

Ernie
  #6  
Old May 22nd, 2020, 02:46 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,257
Re: Problem with USB Headphone Plug

Glad to help, I\'ll close this fhread now.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.