MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 22nd, 2017, 09:02 AM
DannyGsKaraoke DannyGsKaraoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Waterbury, Ct
Posts: 21
Will this work with Hoster

I am going to be picking up this computer probably today if it gets delivered today, was supposed to have gotten here yesterday but was delayed for some reason. Anyway I was wondering if it would run Hoster.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/HP-Flyer-...-Home/46429958
__________________
Show Computer : HP Red Flyer Laptop
OS: Windows 10 home
In Intel processor
4 GB RAM
500 GB internal hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2017, 12:02 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,554
Re: Will this work with Hoster

I see no reason why it wouldnt.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 320 Gb Hard Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Laptop: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 22nd, 2017, 04:21 PM
WaltR WaltR is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,616
Re: Will this work with Hoster

I wouldn\'t have picked that processor but should work. Will probably be slow.
__________________
Walt

Toshiba Qosmio Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 32GB Ram, Graphics: 3GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 770M
With Optimus Technology, Optical Drive: Blue-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) and DVD SuperMultic Drive, Intel Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 2x2 AC Plus Bluetooth 4.0, LED Backlit Keyboard, 256 GB Solid State Drive and 4.0 TB and 1.5 TB Hard Drives, 4 USB 3.0 Ports.

Toshiba Satellite Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 6GB Ram, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Breakaway Audio Enhancer. 3 TB External WD Caviar Green Hard Drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 23rd, 2017, 11:17 AM
DannyGsKaraoke DannyGsKaraoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Waterbury, Ct
Posts: 21
Re: Will this work with Hoster

It came with McAfee Anti-virus. I hate all the paid for Anti-virus programs because they seem to not play well with karaoke programs. I use Songbookdb for requests and plan on using the song store. PCDJ advocates Avast as being one of the only ones that are karaoke program friendly which I tried on the laptop that I was using before the laptop that got stolen. The only issue is that I also use Breakaway Audio Enhancer and Avast doesn\'t play well with Breakaway. Since I connect to the Internet for SongbookDB and for buying songs on the fly I need an Anti-virus program that works with both of those programs. Any suggestions?
__________________
Show Computer : HP Red Flyer Laptop
OS: Windows 10 home
In Intel processor
4 GB RAM
500 GB internal hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 23rd, 2017, 11:52 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,554
Re: Will this work with Hoster

Ive been using McAffee with Hoster now for years, mainly as its included in my broadband package for free.

I have it working with breakaway.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 320 Gb Hard Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Laptop: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 23rd, 2017, 01:45 PM
WaltR WaltR is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,616
Re: Will this work with Hoster

I use Norton and have been for many years. I haven\'t had any problems with this using Hoster.
__________________
Walt

Toshiba Qosmio Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 32GB Ram, Graphics: 3GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 770M
With Optimus Technology, Optical Drive: Blue-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) and DVD SuperMultic Drive, Intel Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 2x2 AC Plus Bluetooth 4.0, LED Backlit Keyboard, 256 GB Solid State Drive and 4.0 TB and 1.5 TB Hard Drives, 4 USB 3.0 Ports.

Toshiba Satellite Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 6GB Ram, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Breakaway Audio Enhancer. 3 TB External WD Caviar Green Hard Drive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 23rd, 2017, 11:55 PM
DannyGsKaraoke DannyGsKaraoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Waterbury, Ct
Posts: 21
Re: Will this work with Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltR View Post
I wouldn\\\'t have picked that processor but should work. Will probably be slow.
From what I understand, a Pentium processor beats a celeron processor any day of the week.
__________________
Show Computer : HP Red Flyer Laptop
OS: Windows 10 home
In Intel processor
4 GB RAM
500 GB internal hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 24th, 2017, 12:00 PM
WaltR WaltR is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,616
Re: Will this work with Hoster

Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyGsKaraoke View Post
From what I understand, a Pentium processor beats a celeron processor any day of the week.
True. I use an I7 in my computers. One has a solid state drive and it is extremely fast.
__________________
Walt

Toshiba Qosmio Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 32GB Ram, Graphics: 3GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 770M
With Optimus Technology, Optical Drive: Blue-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) and DVD SuperMultic Drive, Intel Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 2x2 AC Plus Bluetooth 4.0, LED Backlit Keyboard, 256 GB Solid State Drive and 4.0 TB and 1.5 TB Hard Drives, 4 USB 3.0 Ports.

Toshiba Satellite Laptop; Windows 10, Intel I7, 6GB Ram, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Breakaway Audio Enhancer. 3 TB External WD Caviar Green Hard Drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 25th, 2017, 01:16 PM
MTUSUPPORT MTUSUPPORT is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,161
Re: Will this work with Hoster

The processor will be an issue for sure, expect Audio drops/glitches when using search.

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php...40+%40+2.16GHz

Celeron is to slow for sure.

Here are our recommendations on the Specs page for Hoster.

MTU Recommends using Intel I7 (BEST - Any Amount of Songs), I5 (BETTER - Up to 200k Songs) or I3 (OK - Up to 20k Songs) processor for your Professional Audio setup! Any other processors can cause Audio glitch or distort when running your show
__________________
Bryan, MTU
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 27th, 2017, 02:31 PM
DannyGsKaraoke DannyGsKaraoke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Waterbury, Ct
Posts: 21
Re: Will this work with Hoster

You can add my processor as well to those specs. I just did a four hour show with Hoster on the new new laptop and zero hiccups, no audio drop outlets. Search was just as quick as the laptop that got stolen which was an I5 processor.just under 20,000 songs on the hard drive.
__________________
Show Computer : HP Red Flyer Laptop
OS: Windows 10 home
In Intel processor
4 GB RAM
500 GB internal hard drive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.