MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 26th, 2019, 05:44 PM
Wrahn Wrahn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
Replacement PC Laptop

I need to replace my laptop that I use for Karaoke with family and friends, I\\\'m not a pro.

I have a Acer Aspire 531-4665 15.6\\\" 4GB Ram 500 GB HDD
with the Windows 7 installed. I also have the latest Hoster and I have Microstudio installed. I only use about half of the 500 GB hard Drive of the

I was singing songs to my wife and the laptop froze and I could not do anything with it.

I took it to The Geek Squad and I just received a call that the hard drive was broken and was not abled to be saved. They suggested that since support for Win 7 was going away, it would be better for me to buy a Win 10 Laptop to replace the old one.

So, any suggestions for what laptop that supports Hoster should I get. While I did buy an external HD from MTU years ago, I still think I would like to have a new laptop with the internal drive like my broken Laptop has.

I still have my smaller backup Acer Aspire V5-131 and thanks to Roy I have a backup which includes the songs I have installed.

Thanks for any suggestions, and thanks again to Roy for providing great support and advice.

Wes
__________________
Wes

Acer 11.6 inch Aspire V-5 Laptop with Win 7 Home Intel Celeron 1007U Processor 1.50Ghz 4GB ram

Acer 15.6 inch Aspire E1-531 Laptop with Win Home 7 64, Intel B960 Processor 2.2Ghz 4GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 27th, 2019, 07:22 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,170
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

Hi Wes, thanks for the acknowledgment and glad to hear you took my advise and kept a backup.

Don’t really like giving opinions on computer choices, I have a good understanding of running Hoster but don’t consider myself a computer expert.
Plus it depends how deep your pockets are
MTU recommendations are based on amount of songs in database, more songs higher specs.

MTU Recommends using Intel I7 (BEST - Any Amount of Songs), I5 (BETTER - Up to 200k Songs) or I3 (OK - Up to 20k Songs) processor for your Professional Audio setup! Any other processors can cause Audio glitch or distort when running your show.

So first question how many songs in your database ?

I have an I5 and I7 computer never tried an I3 myself.

Any of the latest Intell HD graphics cards work fine no need for dedicated video cards now unless you play a lot of games as well. Plus less driver updates to worry about

If loading songs on computer hard drive make sure it is big enough to leave you at least 25% free space.

Ram minimum 2G pref 4G.

My own computer specs are in my signature but the i7 might be more than you really need for your purposes.
I have had no real complaints from my Acer computers.

A few things to note, All newer laptops use HDMI for video out so if you had Svid before you will have to consider setup changes for external monitor.
And generally audio & mic jacks are a single jack. Depending how you use these jacks might need some other adapters.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 27th, 2019, 08:23 AM
Wrahn Wrahn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

Roy,

Thanks for the quick response. I only have about 3K songs and don\'t intend to add anymore.

I had thought about looking at all the computers the folks on this forum use, but most are pros that need more than I could ever use.

So, your input will be of a big help as it relates to using Hoster on a laptop.

Thanks again,
__________________
Wes

Acer 11.6 inch Aspire V-5 Laptop with Win 7 Home Intel Celeron 1007U Processor 1.50Ghz 4GB ram

Acer 15.6 inch Aspire E1-531 Laptop with Win Home 7 64, Intel B960 Processor 2.2Ghz 4GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 20th, 2019, 05:42 PM
Wrahn Wrahn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

Rather than buy a new computer, I had the Geek Squad install a SSD in place of the hard drive disk. It only cost me for the 500GB SSD, but since I had Win 7 and it\\\'s not going to be supported in a few months, they installed Win 10.

I down loaded a DEMO Hoster to try to figure it all out and I think I have it figured out. Thanks to great advice from ROY to backup my program and save copies of my songs, I can now install my saved Hoster information without a great deal of work and trouble.

The only problem I have is setting up my two displays so my computer display has the Hoster program with the playlists and the other display has the lyrics for the singer.

With Win 7 all I had to do has extend the singer display and drag the little screen to it. I can set up the Win 10 so I get both displays at the same time, but not two separate displays.

So, what do I have to do in Wind 10?
__________________
Wes

Acer 11.6 inch Aspire V-5 Laptop with Win 7 Home Intel Celeron 1007U Processor 1.50Ghz 4GB ram

Acer 15.6 inch Aspire E1-531 Laptop with Win Home 7 64, Intel B960 Processor 2.2Ghz 4GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 20th, 2019, 06:31 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,170
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

Easiest way to do it is press the “Windows key+p” this should pop up a selection on the right hand side of screen then select Extend.
You must have the second monitor connected for either of these ways to work !!
Alternately right click blank area of screen and select “Display settings” This should bring up a dialog showing Screen1 And Screen 2, highlight screen 2, scroll down page till you see Multiple screens, just below that is a box with a drop down arrow in your case it is probably showing “Duplicate these displays” Cick the drop down arrow and select “Extend”
Following that you will probably get another dialog asking if you want to keep changes, select yes else it will revert back.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 20th, 2019, 08:55 PM
Wrahn Wrahn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 233
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

Roy,

Once again you were very helpful and I now have an extended drive for lyrics.

The only thing left for me is to learn more about Win 10 and how to install my Hoster and MicroStudio into my same laptop that had a non working HD and now has a new SSD drive.

I know I have to let someone at MTU know I don\'t have the programs in my computer anymore, and then access the web site to download the two programs into the same computer.
__________________
Wes

Acer 11.6 inch Aspire V-5 Laptop with Win 7 Home Intel Celeron 1007U Processor 1.50Ghz 4GB ram

Acer 15.6 inch Aspire E1-531 Laptop with Win Home 7 64, Intel B960 Processor 2.2Ghz 4GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 21st, 2019, 06:23 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 6,170
Re: Replacement PC Laptop

You can download a copy of your Hoster version from here:
http://www.mtu.com/upgrades/hoster.htm

Microstudio from here:
http://www.mtu.com/upgrades/microstudio.htm

You can try installing them see if they run but as you did not uninstall from previous computer they most likely won’t let you.

In which case you will have to submit a support ticket from here:
http://help.mtu.com/support/tickets/new

Ask for registration reset and reason why.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.

Last edited by Roy Dennis; October 21st, 2019 at 09:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.