MTU.Community


Go Back   MTU.Community > Hoster Software > Hoster Help

Hoster Help Post Hoster questions, tips and suggestions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2018, 04:59 PM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 450
Hoster won\\\'t open

When I open Hoster I get, Runtime Error! Program: C:\\\\Progr... This application has requested the runtime to terminate in an unusual way. Please contact the application\\\'s support team for more info.
When I open Songs.mdb shortcut on desktop, a message comes up when I tick Songs. Unrecognized database format \\\'C:\\\\ProgramData\\\\mtu.com\\\\Hoster\\\\songs.mdb\\\'. Yesterday I brought this laptop up from the basement to transfer songs I had on my desktop. I downloaded the songs from the desktop onto an external HD. I plugged in the HD to my laptop and used the software \\\"Allway Sync\\\" to synchronise my songs from HD to laptop list. After I did that it quit working. I\\\'ve always done this before and it worked. I have a Dell Inspiron Laptop, Win 7, 500GB HD, i5, Hoster 5.41.05. I only use for Hoster. Should I delete and reinstall? If I do delete, can I reinstall my Hoster 5.41.05 exe. copy? I don\\\'t want to upgrade, because I don\\\'t use 90+% of what is on Hoster. It\\\'s just for home. I hope someone can help.

Thanks,
Ernie
  #2  
Old March 8th, 2018, 05:02 PM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 450
Re: Hoster won\\\\\\\'t open

I don\\\'t know why it printed \\\\\\
  #3  
Old March 8th, 2018, 05:50 PM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,901
Re: Hoster wont open

Try this:
open the Hoster data folder, if you did not alter the default destination for this it should be in:
C:\\ProgramData\\mtu.com\\Hoster, this is normally in a hidden folder but typing the address ( using single backslashes not 2 as shown) in the file explorer should find it.

Once in there find the Songs.mdb and delete it.
Make sure Hoster is not running while doing this.

Then restart Hoster and if it doesnt auto rebuild the database then go into Tools/Songs Database/Rebuild Database.

Hopefully that will get you going, let it complete.

Alternately try:
instead of deleting songs.mdb rename it tempory something like Songsbup.mdb that will make Hoster ignore it then you still have a chance of naming it back if the above doesn’t help.

The backslashes are a problem with the site. they double up each time you check your post or enter Quote characters.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
  #4  
Old March 8th, 2018, 09:20 PM
Ernie Ernie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 450
Re: Hoster won\\\\\\\'t open

Roy,
After fighting with my computer all day, and then reading what you wrote, I thought to myself.....It\'s not possible that it could be that easy!!!!!...... It was that easy. Thank you sir. Once again you pulled a rabbit out of a hat. As always, I really appreciate your help.

Ernie
  #5  
Old March 9th, 2018, 04:32 AM
Roy Dennis's Avatar
Roy Dennis Roy Dennis is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 5,901
Re: Hoster won\\\\\\\'t open

Glad to hear it fixed it for you, I will now close this thread.
__________________
Roy.
Test Laptop: Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit. Acer Aspire 5738G Intel core 2 Duo T6600 ATI Graphics 500Mb dedicated. 4Gb Memory 500 Gb SSD Drive. K-lite Mega version 1205
Show Backup: Windows 10 Acer Aspire Touch Screen V15, Intel core i5, Iris Graphics 6100 up to 8277mb dynamic video, 16Gb memory, 1 TB hybrid HDD. K-lite Mega pac.
Show Computer: Windows 10, Dell Inspiron 15 7000, CPU I7-855OU, Ram 8GB, Graphics UHD620 + Nvidea GeForce 940MX, Hard Drive SSD 256GB + 1GB internal.
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2009 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The contents of this forum are copyrighted by Micro Technology Unlimited, 2000-2008. Use of any material from these Forums is prohibited without written agreement from MTU.