PDA

View Full Version : 2nd Practice Session with Hoster

Ron Vermillion
July 26th, 2006, 12:58 PM
I wanted to thank all of you for your helpful messages on the forum.

I'm not using Hoster to be a KJ. I'm putting together a solo act one man band playing guitar and singing. Used to do this years ago and getting back into it. It's a paying hobby for me but I want to look and sound professional about it. Not taking it lightly, and good enough, isn't.

I've been struggling with programming the JamStation JS-5 and the dinky sound from Band-In-A -Box (the tech at Sweetwater.com suggested a $1,400 MIDI Synth to solve that) and for some reason kept holding off on Hoster because of some stupid ego thing "do I really want to sing over a Karaoke machine for a live performance.. I'm a musician for goodness sake".

Just in the second day of using Hoster for practice and with only (1) WalMart el cheapo CD+G that had about 6 songs I could stand, :g this is the neatest thing I ever ran across.:g I've ordered my second CD+G.
Now to the Karaoke Jockey having two CD+G will be a real funny item. I can hear some of these guys now saying - that's nothing, I have 105,000 songs ready to go. OK pardner, learn all the chord changes to them and sing them all to me. LOL

To me that means that I've added a dozen or so songs that I can perform in two days. The band is trained, the sound is great, no one is going to show up drunk, or get mad over anything and quit. If the venue owner or manager comes up and asks me to turn up or down I can comply immediately and everyone in the band will comply without complaining. The bass player doesn't play too loud. etc. etc.

To me a dozen new songs in a couple of days is flat out amazing. I have six months or so of woodshedding trying to get about 30 blues songs worked out with the JamStation JS-5 and now I just click play on a track in Hoster and all the musicians show up and start to play. Absolutely incredible!