PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Requirements to be a KJ?

Mikelly
July 2nd, 2005, 08:49 AM
Hi There,
Greetings from "Down Under" (Australia), But "Way Ahead"! I mean way ahead in time,coz surely we here in Australia are not ahead in anything to be new released!
I would like to ask for help,:) I'm a newbie to this forum, i purchased an external plexwriter, microstudio, + hoster program just over a year ago, truly happy with them-Great program MTU !
Getting to the point- I have at home a setup consisting of a MACKIE 808M PPM (professional powered mixer series) FR= Fast recovery series 2x 600 watt -it,s got the EMAC custom 32-bit precision digital stereo effects processing built in -beautiful piece of equipment! with 2 MACKIE Speakers 12" on tall stands,C300 (RMS is 300,)( Music 500,)( PEAK 750 each,) Impedance 8ohms.
I Have a Music Maestro set of Discs Cdg,(497 songs on 27 discs) But there all Elvis- Please don't hold that against me!:)
I also have about 300+ various other songs- I have just been singing at home with friends, sometimes going out to karaoke clubs but have been to nervous to get up to sing-(I gotta break this coz i really love karaoke!)
Questions;
1/ How do all these Kj's manage to have tens of thousands of songs ?-are they all what i use (CDG's ) at approx $50 per cd- that Equates to heapsss of money!
2/ How many songs should one have before they take it public?
3/ Is my system capable of public shows? although i would still need to buy tv monitors + other gear that i can't think of immediately,maybe even a laptop computer as i'm currently running everything thru my desktop computer.
4/ I sing always in tune - but how good of a singer should you be to be a KJ?
I better quit this posting now-or it's gonna take you great people days to read my message.- I realize things can be different when your in a totally different country but the basics of everything are all the same!