PDA

View Full Version : plextor 52x24x52a burner doesn't work

wizards
December 23rd, 2003, 11:17 PM
I'm a tech, and do work for one of your customers. The customer recently purchased a Plextor 52x24x52a burner, which I installed for her, and it doesn't work with Microstudio. She checked, and I double-checked, and it appears to be listed in your list of compatible recorders....what's up?
PS. actual model # is PX-5224TA

joker98
December 23rd, 2003, 11:47 PM
I am also interesting in hearing the answer to this question. I have purchased the same burner and it is Listed to be compatible with Microstudios.. But Mine will not work either.
It reads the CDG's but when you go to burn the new CD.. it just keeps flashing the lights on the burner but it doesn't Burn the CD.
I was curious to find out what exactly your burner does or doesn't do.

wizards
December 24th, 2003, 12:09 AM
I'm not absolutely certain, but I think I may have found the answer to my own post by reading some of the other posts and product info pages at mtu.com. Quite probably (it's too late at night to call her right now, and I don't remember) the customer that I installed the drive for doesn't have a newer version of Microstudio, and the newer 52x drive isn't supported by her older version. The program just won't recognize the drive because of this. If anyone can verify my findings it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

George
December 24th, 2003, 12:40 AM
Wizards.....You got it.

Microstudio prior to version 2.506 will not support that burner. The current upgrade is Microstudio 2.517.

Terms for upgrades are stated at the MTU store(link below). There is also a free Microstudio 2.517 DEMO available through the store if you want to check out the burner compatibility first.

http://www.mtu.com/basics/karaoke.htm

You will probably also need to install DIRECT X 9.0. It is available free from Microsoft's website.