PDA

View Full Version : Excessive bites

ROBERT A ROGAN
April 26th, 2003, 07:14 AM
Can some one help me. I have just had a computer Made and Had Installed Holster. I have read the instructions for Loading my collection of CGD ( 300 ) and after importing 10 so far at a ratio 128. point (1) I am unable to save to my E:\Karaoke as I cannot enter, eg EK001 and go the long way round to store the recordings? point (2) on checking the amount off Hard drive left out off 160 GB I have already used 55 GB. I am not very good at computers can you help
Many thanks Bob

nreel
April 26th, 2003, 08:30 AM
If you have one (1) Hard Drive, remember, the Operating System (OS) has probably accounted for most of the Bytes that you reported as used.

Generally speaking, WMA + G compression will use about 4-6 Meg per file. Your 10 songs most likely has only used 40-60 Meg of space on your Hard Drive.

Not quite sure what you mean on the “Storing “ issue but one way to see your Hard Drive’s “used” and “unused” space is to:

Left click on the “Start” button
Left Click (Depending on how your mouse Button is configured, you may need to Double Left Click) on “My Computer” to OPEN
Left Click on “View” which is located on the “Tool Bar” near the Top
Left Click on “Details”

You Hard Drive information should be displaying.

To permanently have the “Detail” showing the next time you OPEN “My Computer,” you should, after performing the steps above, do the following:

Left Click on “Tools” which is located on the “Tool Bar” near the top
Left Click “Folder Options”
Left Click “View” near the top
Left Click “Apply To All Folders”

George
April 26th, 2003, 08:42 AM
Nreel,

Your answer regarding hard drive usage is right on, in terms of MG, but Robert said he's already used 55GB. Either he used the wrong terminology, or there really is something drastically wrong.
I wouldn't have the foggiest idea what. Am tempted to think he meant MG.